Top 5 Wednesday is a GoodReads group hosted by Sam from Thoughts on Tomes.

This week’s prompt …

November 7th: Largest Books on TBR
— In honour of #TomeToppleReadathon coming back this month, discuss those big books on your shelf!

I often find big books intimidating, not because I don’t enjoy them, but I sometimes need a little extra push to pick them up. They require more of a time commitment.

These are five books that are over 500 pages and that I’m considering for #TomeTopple.

But first, an honourable mention.

The Pillars of the Earth (Kingsbridge, #1)

Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follett

This is currently the longest book on my TBR at 973 pages. I would feel remiss not mentioning it. I do plan to read it. However, I am on a major fantasy kick and this behemoth of a historical fiction does not appeal.

 

 

The Lies of Locke Lamora (Gentleman Bastard, #1)  Warbreaker (Warbreaker, #1)  Malice (The Faithful and the Fallen, #1)  Naamah's Kiss (Naamah Trilogy, #1)  Nevermoor: The Trials of Morrigan Crow (Nevermoor, #1)

The Lies of Locke Lamora by Scott Lynch –  Coming in at 752 pages, this book has a lot of things I look for in a fantasy — a strong friend group and a gang of thieves. I loved Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo and this book is giving me similar vibes.

Warbreaker by Brandon Sanderson – This one is 688 pages and is the only other of Sanderson’s books I own. I read Elantris earlier this year and really enjoyed it. I keep meaning to pick up more by him.

Malice by John Gwynne – At 672 pages, I first heard about this book on Piera Forde’s YouTube channel. It sounds like an epic warrior fantasy and I haven’t read one of those in a while.

Naamah’s Kiss by Jacqueline Carey – This book is 645 pages long. It is the first book in the follow-up to the Kushiel Series of epic fantasies and takes place in the same world. I loved the first three books of the Kushiel Series when we followed Phedre, I wasn’t such a huge fan of the second part when we follow Imriel. Most recently, I just finished and enjoyed the author’s Starless. Naamah’s Kiss is near the top of my list, I think I moved the physical book with me to Alberta (over 9 years ago). Should probably get on it.

Nevermoor by Jessica Townsend – Coming in at 640 pages, this is the most recent addition to my to-read pile on this list. I have heard nothing but praise about this book. Also, the cover is beautiful!

So, these are the top 5 fantasy books on my TBR over 500 pages long. I’m hoping to read at least two of them for #TomeTopple which runs from November 16-29th.

Have you read any of these? What did you think?

#TomeTopple is a two-week readathon started by Sam from Thoughts on Tomes which encourages people to read the larger books on our TBRs. Check out the announcement video here.

 

One thought on “Top 5 Wednesday – Largest TBR Books

Leave a comment