Created by Kate @ Katesbookdate.

This is a somewhat older tag, but I just found it. I really want to do it because it lets me rant about two of my favourite things, music and books.

For each question, there is a song and a book answer.

MY JAM – a song you MUST listen to every time it comes on, no matter how old or how many times you’ve listened to it / a book you’ll never get sick of

This song never fails to put me in a good mood and cause me to dance around my kitchen, or at my desk, or wherever I happen to be.

Song – Good Life by OneRepublic

Book – Simon vs. The Homo-Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda (Creekwood, #1)

 

This is a great book about growing up and first love, about friendship and family. It gives the warm and fuzzy feels without being over-the-top cutesy. A genuinely good story, I can’t see myself ever not enjoying it.

 

 

THROWBACK – a song that reminds you of the cringest time of your life / a book that also reminds you of this time (or just something you wouldn’t like as much if you picked it up for the first time now)

For me, the cringest time of my life was the whole of my teen years into my early twenties. I swear, from 13-25 I was awkward and had absolutely no idea what I was doing. I wasn’t too bad at faking it by the end, but honestly.

I don’t dislike Savage Garden by any means — I still have a few of their songs on my shuffle. I don’t know if this even counts because this particular album didn’t come out until I was 18. Yet, they were the first thing that popped into my head when I was thinking about music from my teen years. This is my favourite song of theirs.

Crash and Burn by Savage Garden

Books – The works of L.J. Smith

The Awakening (The Vampire Diaries, #1)  The Initiation (The Secret Circle, #1)  The Hunter (The Forbidden Game, #1)

These books originally came out in the early/mid-nineties and devoured them. It was my first introduction to urban fantasy, which is still my favourite genre. The Vampire Diaries set off a decade long obsession with vampire books. I also distinctly remember the yard sale where I sold my copies because I had moved on. Who knew they would make it so big later.

REPLAY – a recent song you have on repeat right now / a recent favourite book

I was first introduced to Vienna Teng years ago and loved her music then she kinda fell off my radar. Not because I wasn’t enjoying it — you know how that happens. Recently, I rediscovered it, especially her “Aims” album and this song. It could be because I have been watching the third season of Sword Art Online.

Song – Level Up by Vienna Teng

Book – The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater 

The Raven Boys (The Raven Cycle, #1)  The Dream Thieves (The Raven Cycle, #2)  Blue Lily, Lily Blue (The Raven Cycle, #3)  The Raven King (The Raven Cycle, #4)

First, let’s take a moment to admire these absolutely stunning covers. I know I’m late to the game in reading these books, but I am almost finished The Raven King. OMG! This is a new favourite series. The characters, the story with just a hint of mythology. These books are not for everyone, and I can see why, but I have been loving them.

GETS ME – this song IS ME / this book is me in book form

This is the hardest question for me to answer. I feel like there are books and music that speak to parts of me, but not all. I don’t think that is possible to come up with a perfect match without being an author or a songwriter.

To answer this question, I have just picked one of each.

Song – Whatadya Want from Me by Adam Lambert

This song is about a relationship that Adam is trying to hold on to.  I can’t relate to that, but the general sentiment of trying to find your way and feeling like your letting everyone down. That I can jive with.

Book — Confessions of a Latter-Day Virgin by Nicole Hardy 

Confessions of a Latter-day Virgin: A Memoir

First, a bit of a disclaimer — I was not raised Mormon, but Roman Catholic. While the two faiths are different, they do share commonalities in their doctrines around relationships. In this memoir, Nicole Hardy talks about reconciling being a single woman in her thirties with her faith. I get it. I work in a public library in a fairly conservative Christian part of the world and there are a number of patrons who have no qualms asking very personal questions. I have often been asked about my religion. The snarky answer is that I have faith but no religion. What I really should do is get people to read this book. Hardy explains, in much better words than me, why I often feel as if I have no place in the church.

Now for a complete change of pace …

WUT – weird but I like it? – a unique book that stuck out to you for whatever reason

When I think of weird music I like, my first thought is Moxy Fruvous.

Song – Green Eggs and Ham by Moxy Fruvous

Book – A History of Glitter and Blood by Hannah Moskowitz

A History of Glitter and Blood

 

This is possibly one of the weirdest books I have ever read. Ultimately, this fantasy novel is about war and survival, and prejudice and friendship. The worldbuilding is almost non-existent and I have no real idea what the characters look like. Yet, I enjoyed the book overall.

 

LET’S GO – best pump up song (for workouts or just life) – a book that inspired you

There are a number of songs that could work for this ( I have a whole playlist dedicated to it)

Song – Awake and Alive by Skillet

Book – Escape by Carolyn Jessop

Escape

I find many biographies/autobiographies to be inspiring. This is one that I remember being a particularly emotional read. The things that Carolyn Jessop went through to make a better life for herself and her eight children, outside the world of the FLDS, are truly extraordinary. It is also amazing how she continues to go back into that world to help other women and children.

 

CHILL – fav chill, relaxing song / a book you’d curl up with and read on a rainy day

For chill music, I often turn to classical, particularly piano. Here is a recent favourite.

Song – Canon Variation by Kenzie Smith Piano

Book – Starless by Jacqueline Carey

Starless

 

When I’m hibernating and reading, I want a good immersive read, so I often reach for epic fantasy. There is nothing like getting lost in another world to make you forget how miserable it is outside … and all the things you should be doing inside.

 

ADDICTING – guilty pleasure song – one that’s catchy and addicting but not a whole lot of substance / guilty pleasure/trashy/fast/light read

Song – Shut Up and Dance with Me by Walk the Moon

This is the quintessential party song.

I don’t have an answer to the book question. First, I don’t feel guilty for what I read. You could make the argument for Cassandra Clare’s books or some of the new adult romances I read. However, I don’t like to consider them trashy and while they are fast reading, I find the ones I like often deal with heavier themes and reduce me to tears (granted that isn’t hard) in places.

NOSTALGIA – throwback you look back on fondly / a book you read forever ago that you look back on fondly or reminds you of a happy childhood time

For this song, I am going to go back to one of my mother’s favourites. This song reminds me of home, not because of the lyrics, but because I heard it so many times as a child.

Song – Diamonds on the Souls of her Shoes by Paul Simon

Book – This Can’t Be Happening at MacDonald Hall by Gordon Korman

This Can't Be Happening at Macdonald Hall! (Macdonald Hall, #1)

 

I have very distinct memories associated with this series. Sitting in the backseat of  Granma’s car with her and her cousin as we headed to visit Nanny (my great-grandmother) in the nursing home during Spring Break. I think maybe I found the first one in the basement of her house or something. I have recommended this series to many patrons, it is still a classic. I keep meaning to reread it.

 

So, that’s this tag. It was really fun.

Question — since I am always looking for music and book recommendations. What are you listening to on repeat lately? Whatcha reading?

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment